Where to now?

16 June 2012

So I seem to have almost totally lost interest in World of Warcraft. This is the result of a combination of many things. One is my husband deciding to quit right after our wedding — since the beginning, we have always played together, and it’s very weird to log in without him now, knowing that I won’t ever have him DPSing at my side again. The second is that, well, it has been 2.5 years. I’ve achieved everything in this game that mattered to me. I’ve gotten very, very good at raiding; I’m pretty sure I’d be good enough to get into any of the world top 50 guilds, were I so inclined, and were they recruiting hunters. I’ve gotten pretty damn decent at PVP. I am going to hit the gold cap either tomorrow or Sunday, 1 month ahead of schedule. I’ve created my perfect transmog outfit and farmed it up. After that, this game is done for me. I’m not interested in achievements or pet hunting, and I’ve seen everything else.

Where to now? Well, for starters, I’m eyeing the much-hyped Guild Wars 2 with increasing excitement. I’ve pre-purchased it, and had a blast last weekend in the beta event — probably more fun than I’ve had in the last 4 months in Wow. Its worlds is new, beautiful, exciting, engaging. I like the flexibility of the character building system. I like the combat style. I like the PVP. I like… well, am ambivalent to the idea of there being no real opportunity for “hardcore” raiding.

I am keeping Clearing Trash as I still like the name. This blog will be about other things now, including, yes, sometimes, Guild Wars.

Leave a Reply

